24/7 training, is it possible?

How often do you train?  Once a week? Twice a week? Three times or more?  Some of you may say you train for an hour a day, every day.

What if i were to tell you that you’re probably always training and if you’re not, it is possible to.  I know i am.  When you go to the dojo, put on your gi and do an hour or two under the guidance of your Sensei, this is primary training.  Practicing on your own at home, in the garden or wherever else you can get a bit of space is also beneficial, but there are opportunities everywhere you go.

Now i’m not saying we should walk down the street and do our kicks to get from a to b, but we can use our minds to focus on danger prevention.  Allow me to explain a little more…

There are a lot of subway underpasses around where I work and live, not places you want to be hanging around late at night.  However these are necessary to get to where i want to go.  By force of habit before i turn that corner i’m looking to see what is behind me, then  If you were to watch me you’d also see me taking the outside line so i can see at the earliest opportunity any possible danger.

When I buy jeans and trousers, I’m making sure these fit well around the waist, but also give me enough flexibility to make sure i can use my kicks if i need to.  It’s highly unlikely, if not near impossible that you’ll be wearing your gi come a real life fight on the streets.  To be honest, if you’re wearing your gi in situations that you don’t really need to then you could be asking for trouble.  You’ll never be short of a few air heads looking to prove a point so don’t give them the opportunity in the first place.

When I’m out and about for in a bar or restaurant, especially in places i don’t know; i’m looking to be sitting with my back to the wall.  Why?  Because behind me will be one less place i’ll be having to look if something kicks off.

Have you ever been stopped in the middle of the street by somebody you don’t know?  I personally don’t like it.  I get that awkward feeling.  What does this guy want?  Money?  Directions? The time?  In an ideal world to avoid any chance of possible confrontation I’d walk off and ignore, but then again being kind, friendly and with a innate need to respect other people I stay to find out what is needed.  The way in which I look to help however may come across as a little intimidating.  My eyes will scrunch as though i’m ready to kill putting the other person on edge.  My voice when responding becomes sharp and aggressive with my hands coming out of my pockets.  Why do I do this?  It’s not because i’m a bully, it’s not because i want to intimidate anybody, but more so a need for self preservation.  99 times out of 100 we will be stopped in the streets by strangers for genuine reasons and all is fine.  Let us imagine this person is stopping you for alternative reasons and they’re sizing you up to take your phone.  There is no way on Earth i’m going to make myself look like an easy target by being all nice.  As soon as this stranger acknowledges my response its intention should be to ask themselves the question, “Do i really want to be picking this target?”

  Some may say i’m over cautious, some may say i’m paranoid.  I say that i’m training my brain and focusing on little things I can do to give myself every extra chance of survival if put in to a situation that i’d rather not find myself in.

So, 24/7 training.  Is it possible? I think it is albeit not your standard training that you use in the dojo.  I’d be interested to see other people’s take on this.  Do you have little things you do for self preservation?  Do you think I’m barking mad?  Let me know in the comments section.

2 comments

  1. I must respectfully disagree with your views on meeting strangers in the street. It is my opinion that a karateka should be humble and polite at all times which obviously doesn’t include scrunching up the eyes to look like you are ready to kill someone or using an aggressive voice.
    As for using martial arts to protect a phone? Let them take your phone, and your wallet and your watch. They are only things and can be replaced. Karate should be used as a last resort to protect yourself or loved ones…not phones.

    However, I do agree that it is possible to train outside of the dojo – but it has nothing to do with subways, jeans or sitting with one’s back to the wall. Training could be getting involved with a variety of sports, eating a careful diet, getting plenty of rest, drinking lots of water, and, most importantly, remembering to behave in a manner that honours your dojo at all times.

    Thank you for allowing me to express my views.

    Like

    1. Hi Batman, many thanks for your views. I totally agree with your comments about good dieting and plenty of rest etc. I feel that these are in addition and ones that I missed out in the original post although being quite obvious.

      If we were to just give away our possessions that we have worked hard for then wouldn’t that in your opinion defeat the object of training in karate for self defence in the first place? I do feel there is a balance that needs to be found between being polite and being a pushover.

      You are most welcome to express your views my friend and it’s good to get a different viewpoint on the subject so thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

